2016 Estonian American Innovation Award Recipients Announced January 27

The American Chamber of Commerce Estonia (AmCham Estonia), the Baltic American Freedom Foundation (BAFF), and the U.S. Embassy in Tallinn, Estonia will announce the winner of the 2016 Estonian American Innovation Award at a ceremony on January 27, 2015 at 3:00 p.m. at Mektory Center.  The award honors innovation and creative cooperation between Estonia and the U.S. The winner of the Creativity and Social Impact award, sponsored by Facebook, and the Most Innovative Newcomer will also be revealed at the ceremony.

The ceremony, which is open to the public, will feature Estonian Entrepreneurship Minister Liisa Oviir and a special keynote address by Hewlett Packard’s Chief Disrupter, Mr. Andrew Bolwell.

 WHERE: Mektory Center, Raja 15, Tallinn

 WHEN: 27 January 15:00-16:00, reception to follow

The Innovation award recipient will receive €10,000 euros, provided by BAFF.  Past recipients have included companies such as Planet OS, GrabCAD, ZeroTurnaround and Fortumo.  The newcomer award recipient will receive €5,000 euros and the Creativity and Social Impact recipient will receive €2,000 euros.

Approximately, 20 companies entered the competition, which was open to Estonian residents, firms, and organizations that have distinguished themselves through innovation in collaboration with a U.S. counterpart.  The awards panel, comprised of eight members from both sides of the Atlantic, made its decision based on several factors, primarily creativity, impact or clear potential impact of the innovation, and demonstration of collaboration with a U.S. entity.

For more information, please contact the U.S. Embassy at PressTallinn@State.gov or 668-8216. Media is kindly asked to RSVP.