Health Alert – Estonia (May 29)

Health Alert – U.S. Embassy Tallinn, Estonia (May 29, 2020)

Location: Estonia

Event: On June 1, the Government of Estonia will reopen borders to passengers arriving from other countries of the European Union, the Schengen Zone, and the United Kingdom.  Travelers must be symptom free and must have been present in one of the approved countries for the previous 14 days.  Travelers arriving from the countries where the current COVID-19 infection rate is below 15 per 100,000 individuals over the previous 14 days will be able to enter without quarantine. Travelers arriving from countries where the infection rate is higher than 15 per 100,000 individuals will need to quarantine upon arrival.

As it stands, quarantine-free entry will apply to travelers from Austria, the Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Switzerland.  Travelers from Sweden, the United Kingdom, Belgium, Ireland, Portugal, Malta, Luxembourg, Italy, Spain, the Netherlands, and Denmark will have to quarantine on arrival.  These lists of countries will be reevaluated every week.

Nothing has changed for travelers arriving from the United States.  Border controls will continue to apply to travelers coming from the United States who may be transiting other European countries.  All of these travelers will be subject to quarantine, and will only be admitted into Estonia if they are in one of the excepted categories allowing them entry into Estonia, including immediate relatives of an Estonian citizen or resident, for example.  For more information on excepted categories please have a look at the Police and Border Guard’s Website, as well as for more information on quarantine requirements.

More information can be found on the Estonian Government and Ministry of Foreign Affairs and websites.  The U.S. Embassy will continue to update our website with new information.  Please contact with any questions.

Actions to Take:


U. S. Embassy Tallinn
Kentmanni 20
15099 Tallinn
+372 668 8100

After-hours emergency number for U.S. citizens is +372 509 2129

State Department - Consular Affairs: 888-407-4747 or 202-501-4444