Common Declaration in Support of Baltic Pride 2020

June 22, 2020

Common Declaration in Support of Baltic Pride 2020

Baltic Pride 2020 was originally set to take place in Tallinn 1-7 June. Due to the COVID-19 situation, it will instead be celebrated digitally 22-28 June. 

We voice our support for efforts to safeguard and promote the human rights of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Intersex persons and to raise public awareness of the issues affecting the LGBTI communities in Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania.

Human rights apply to every human being, regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity or expression. Respect for these basic principles obliges States to protect all citizens from violence and discrimination and to ensure they enjoy equal opportunities. We reaffirm the inherent dignity of each individual as expressed in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

For this, we need to keep working together to create an environment of inclusion and equality, free from discrimination, where all human rights are fully guaranteed.

We pay tribute to the important work of the LGBTI communities in the Baltic States, as well as the work of all those in government and outside who seek to ensure human rights for LGBTI persons and end discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, or sex characteristics.

LGBTI rights are human rights, which everyone should support and respect.

Embassy of Austria, Embassy of Australia, Embassy of Belgium, Embassy of Brazil, , Embassy of Canada, Embassy of Denmark, Embassy of Finland, Embassy of France, Embassy of Germany, Embassy of Greece, Embassy of Iceland, Embassy of Ireland, Embassy of Italy, Embassy of Latvia, Embassy of Mexico, Embassy of the Netherlands, Embassy of New Zealand, Embassy of Norway, Embassy of Spain, Embassy of Sweden, Embassy of the United Kingdom,  Embassy of the United States of America, Nordic Council of Ministers in Estonia